Maitighar, Kathmandu, Nepal 4262426, 9851024388 [email protected]

DUBAI   -  Pakistan made the world cup history after defeating arch-rival India by 10 wickets in the blockbuster match of the T20 World Cup played here at jam-packed Dubai International Cricket Stadium. 

Pakistan’s victory against India was the first ever win by the men in green in the world cup history as earlier, they were 0-5 down against the arch-rivals. Chasing the decent target of 152 runs, Pakistan openers Babar Azam and Muhammad Rizwan established a firm partnership throughout the second innings as they smoothly chased the target to clinch a victory for team green.

The duo of Babar Azam and Muhammad Rizwan, reached the milestone during the ICC T20 World Cup match against the arch-rivals in Dubai. They broke the nine-year-old record set by Muhammad Hafeez and Shoaib Malik when they scored 106 runs for the 4th wicket in 2012 at Bangalore.

Meanwhile, Rizwan also completed 1,500 T20 runs in the ongoing calendar year. He is the second Pakistani after Babar Azam to score 1,500 runs in a calendar year. The duo also posted the highest ever partnership for any wicket by any team against India in T20Is surpassing 133 by David Warner and Shane Watson.

Shaheen Shah Afridi was no doubt player of the match for his brilliant bowling which helped Pakistan restrict the opponents to 151/7 in allotted 20 overs. In a stunning display, Shaheen Afridi sent Virat Kohli, who took charge of India’s resurgence, off for 57 runs in turn claiming the sixth and crucial wicket for Pakistan. Pakistan’s fifth dismissal was through Hasan Ali who sent Ravindra Jadeja back to the pavilion.

Earlier Rishabh Pant was dismissed for 39 runs after Shahdab Khan caught the batsman’s delivery. Hasan Ali claimed India’s third wicket, dismissing Suryakumar Yadav, to give the Men in Green a head start. Shaheen Afridi struck early to claim two wickets for Pakistan against arch-rival India in the Super 12 match of the T20 World Cup on Sunday.

The Pakistani pacer sent opener Rohit Sharma back to the pavilion after he managed to score only one run. He was replaced by skipper Virat Kohli. Afridi claimed another wicket of K Rahul as he departed for just three runs. Suryakumar Yadav replaced Rahul in the ground. 

Prime Minister Imran Khan has congratulated Pakistan Cricket team for its win against India.

In a tweet, he extended special congratulations to Pakistan's captain Babar Azam who led from the front as well as to brilliant performances of Muhammad Rizwan and Shaheen Afridi.

The Prime Minister said the nation is proud of you all. 

Minister for Information and Broadcasting Chaudhary Fawad Hussain also congratulated Pakistan cricket team on its historic victory against India. He was in Dubai stadium to watch the live match.


Published Date: Oct 25, 2021